Quick Links
Letter From The Board of County Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners, commonly referred to as the County Commission, is the governing body of San Miguel County and is charged, by law, with exercising all County powers necessary and proper to provide for the safety, preserve the health and promote the welfare of the citizens of San Miguel County.

The County Commission is comprised of five members, each representing a district of equal population within the County, which consists of approximately 4,700 square miles. Each year the Commission selects one of its five members to act as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

Gilbert J.B. Sena, who represents District Four, is the Chairman of the County Commission. The other members of the Commission are Vice-Chairman Rock G. Ulibarri - District One, Marcellino A. Ortiz - District Two, Arthur J. Padilla - District Three, and Nicolas T. Leger - District Five.

Regular monthly meetings are held at 2:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month. The Commission also meets in special and emergency meetings, as the need arises.

The County Commission has control of all County property, equipment and accounts, and may levy taxes as provided by law. As well, the County Commissioner is authorized by law to employ a County Manager to conduct the day-to day business of the County and to assist the County Commission in exercising its duties and responsibilities.

You can contact the San Miguel County Commission by calling (505) 425-9333 or by mail at:

San Miguel County Commission
500 W. National Ave. Suite 201
Las Vegas, NM 87701

This website is best viewed in Internet Explorer 8 or later, Firefox, or Chrome.
For comments on our webpage, please e-mail itsupport@smcounty.net.